Irish religious leaders seek action against China over persecution of Uighurs

Share this:

More than 50 Irish faith leaders have signed a statement condemning the persecution of the Uighurs and other Muslims in China.

Included among the signatories are: Church of Ireland Archbishop Michael Jackson of Dublin; five Catholic bishops, Alan McGuckian, Fintan MonaghanLarry Duffy, Phonsie Cullinan and Leo O’Reilly; Rabbi Zalman Lent of the Dublin Hebrew Congregation; Shaykh Umar Al-Qadri of the Irish Muslim Peace and Integration Council; and Rev Myozan Kodo Kilroy of Zen Buddhism Ireland.

Other signatories include: Sr Stanislaus Kennedy; Mother Marie Fahy, abbess at St Mary’s Abbey at Glencairn, Co Waterford; Dean of Waterford Maria Jansson; Sr Kathleen McGarvey, provincial leader at Sisters of Our Lady of Apostles; Rev Prof Anne Lodge, director of the Church of Ireland centre at Dublin City University; and Canon Elaine Murray, rector of Carrigaline Union of Parishes in Cork.